The Little Brown Poet

Woke up one morning

With fractions of dreams from last night,

Feeling distinct inside

Still trying to awake my mind

Then I thought of you

Then the distance to get to you

Quite a journey

But I would undertake

Just cause you’ve asked me to.

I’ve known you too long

For me to ask how long

Or how far

Knowing how strong –

Headed you can be at times.

With my mindset fully inclined,

I set off to yours

But as I thought

Disappointment wasn’t far off.

Leaving me stranded by the side of the road

A place I had never been before

Looking confused

But still better than a lost puppy

As the mother;

I can be a BITCH

So I used my Basic Instincts To Create Hope

I found him

His eyes seemed sorry

But I could read the lyrics in his heart

And the difference was too far apart.

I stayed

We talked

He leaned

I crossed

Told him I would walk

He said to me

A kiss wouldn’t hurt

And he missed me so much

A fact that I know

But I still don’t trust.

Glancing through my works

What a dynamic poet he thought.

He looked into my eyes

The brown in them popped

And the little rays locked

Unto them

As they found a way to escape the drapes

“You’re my little brown poet” he said

With those sexy eyes as I lay in bed

Right beside him

He just wanted a kiss

But I knew he would move ahead

And maybe want a head

And I wasn’t willing to lose my head

Trying to get one.

“I should write about this”

“Write about the ‘Little Brown Poet’ ”

He seemed to be okay with it.

But would I be his little brown poet?

Would I let him in and would I love it?

I let my lips slip onto his for a moment

Just cause I wanted

And off I left

Now as ‘THE LITTLE BROWN POET’

Leave a Reply

